Kontaktieren Sie uns oder folgen Sie uns in den sozialen Netzwerken

Khenchen Sherab's Centers



Die Sakya-Tradition & Die Sakya-Trizins


The Sakya tradition takes its name from the monastery founded in 1073 at Sakya, in south-western Tibet, by Khönchog Gyalpo, a member of the Khön family. The Patriarchs of Sakya belong to this uncommon Khön lineage.


The Sakya school of Tibetan Buddhism was founded by Sachen Kunga Nyingpo (1092 – 1158 A.D.). Since that time the tradition and its two principal sub-schools, the Ngorpas and the Tsharpas, have been adorned by the labours and spiritual blessings of numerous illustrious yogis and scholars. Many great Sakya masters have written precious commentaries to the teachings of Buddha Shakyamuni of all three vehicles – the Hinayana, Mahayana and Vajrayana. The most important cycle of teachings and meditations of the Sakya tradition is the Lamdre – The Path and its Fruit, enunciated by the great 9th century Indian tantric master and saint, Mahasiddha Virupa. Lamdre is a system of knowledge of practicing the entire range of sutric and tantric teachings of the Buddha. The Lamdre lineage of transmission has been preserved to this day in an uninterrupted way and its practices are still upheld by many practitioners.


​The unbroken succession of lineage holders bear the three supreme names of tsen chok sum den, known as the Celestial Race, the Khön Clan and Sakya-pa. Through them, the great teachings of the Sakya Tradition are preserved and continue to flourish to the present day. The supreme throne holder, His Holiness the 41st Sakya Trizin, Ngawang Kunga Thegchen Palbar Trinley Samphel Wangi Gyalpo, saw with his vast vision that in the current degenerate time it would be beneficial to change the throne holder succession system, even though this diverges from the established Sakya tradition, creating a new era.

On 8th May, 2014, the new historical throne holder succession system was unanimously resolved by the Dolma Phodrang and Phuntsok Phodrang, with His Holiness the Sakya Trizin announcing the same on 11th December 2014 during the 23rd Great Sakya Mönlam for Universal Peace in Lumbini.




Veranstaltungen mit den Sakya Trizins





  1. The List of Sakya Trizins to date
  2. More about the Sakya Lineage
  3. Sakya History Resources
  4. The Sakya Tradition On-Line Archive of Teachings


The resolution detailed the tenure, assumption of throne holder position by seniority and the prerequisite qualifications to become the throne holder. The qualification includes the complete fulfillment of studies of all the basic rites and rituals of Sakya tradition, studies in all the major philosophies, receiving empowerments, reading transmissions, pith instructions, mastering the teachings of the ancestral Dharma teachings of Lamdre Tsogshey and Lamdre Lobshey along with other important teachings and empowerments, and having accomplished the basic recitation retreat on Hevajra and other important yidam deities.


In 2017, His Holiness Ratna Vajra Rinpoche, Ngawang Kunga Lodro Wangchuk 
Rinchen Jigme Trinley, who is endowed with above mentioned qualifications, officially became the 42nd Sakya Trizin. 

In 2022, His Holiness Gyana Vajra Rinpoche, Ngawang Kunga Rinchen Khyentse Dorje, who is endowed with above mentioned qualifications, officially became the 43rd Sakya Trizin.